## <sup>1</sup>[BENGAL DISTRICTS ACT, 1836]

## ACT No. 21 of 1836

[11th September,1836.]

**1. Power to create new.** —<sup>2\*\*\*</sup> It shall be lawful for the <sup>3</sup>[the State Government, by notification in the Official Gazette] to create new *zilas* in any part of <sup>4</sup>[West Bengal] <sup>5\*\*\*</sup>

\_\_\_\_

- (1) Assam by Regn, 1 of 1886;
- (2) Punjab by Act 17 of 1887; and
- (3) Uttar Pradesh by Act 1 of 1903.
- 2. Formal words rep. by Act 16 of 1903.
- 3. The original words, *viz.*, "the G.G. in C., by an order in Council" have been successively amended by the Amending Act, 1903 (1 of 1903), the Devolution Act, 1920 (38 of 1920), the A.O. 1937 and the A.O. 1950 to read as above.
- 4. Subs. by the A.O. 1948 for "the Presidency of Fort William in Bengal".
- 5. The words "and to alter the limits of existing Zilas" rep. by the Amending Act, 1903 (1 of 1903).

<sup>1.</sup> Short title given by the Amending Act, 1903 (1 of 1903, Sch. I.

The Act has been declared by the Laws Local Extend Act, 1874 (15 of 1874), s. 6, to be in force throughout the former Province of Bengal, except the Scheduled Districts.

It has been declared by notification under the Scheduled Districts Act, 1874 (14 of 1874), s. 3, to be in force in—West Jalpaiguri and the Western

Duars in the Jalpaiguri District See Gazette of India, 1881, Pt. I, p. 74.

The districts of Hazaribagh, Ranchi, Palamau and Manbhum, and Pargana Dhalbhum and the Kolhan in the district of Singbhum, in the Chota Nagpur Division

Ditto

1881, Pt. I, P. 504.

It has also been declared to be in force in the Sonthal Parganas by the Sonthal Parganas Settlement Regulation, 1872 (3 of 1872), s. 3.

The Act has been rep. in its application to:--