JUDICIAL OFFICERS, MADRAS AND BOMBAY

ACT NO. XXIV. OF 1836

[Rep., Act. 8 of 1868]

[10th October, 1836.]

Passed by the Right Hon'ble the Governor General of India in Council, on the 10th October, 1836.

I. It is hereby enacted, that the Officers who in the Regulations of the Presidency of Fort St. George are designated as Nave Judges and Criminal Judges, shall from the 1st day of November, 1836, be designated as Principal Sudder Ameens.

II. And it is hereby enacted, that from the said first day of November, 1836, the Officers who in the Regulations of the Presidency of Bombay are designated as Native Judges, shall be designated as Principal Sudder Ameens; and the Officers who in the said last mentioned Regulations are designated as Principal Native Commissioners, shall be designated as Sudder Ameens, and Officers who in the said last mentioned Regulations are designated as Junior Native Commissioners, shall be designated as Moonsiffs.

III. And it is hereby enacted, that from the said first day of November, 1836, no person whatever shall by reason of place of birth or by reason of descent, be incapable of being a Principal Sudder Ameen, Sudder Ameen, or Moonsiff, whithin the Territories subject to the Presidencies of Fort St. George and of Bombay.

IV. And it is hereby enacted, that every British-born subject of the King, or descendant of such British-born subject, who shall be appointed a Principal Sudder Ameen, Sudder Ameen, or Moonsiff in the Territories subject to the Presidency of Fort St. George or of Bombay, shall in respect of all acts done by him as such Principal Sudder Ameen, Sudder Ameen, or Moonsiff be liable to the same proceedings as well Criminal as Civil, and shall be amenable to the Jurisdiction of the same tribunals, as if he were not of British birth or descent.

V. And it is hereby enacted, that from the said first day of November, 1836, no person shall by reason of placer of birth, or by reason of decent, be exempted in any Civil proceeding from the jurisdiction of the Assistant Judge in the Territories subject to the Presidency of Bombay.