THE JUDICIAL OFFICERS PROTECTION ACT, 1850

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTION

Preamble

SECTION

1. Non-liability to suit of officers acting judicially, for official acts done in good faith, and of officers executing warrants and orders.

¹[THE JUDICIAL OFFICERS PROTECTION ACT, 1850] ACT NO. 18 of 1850

[4th April, 1850.]

1879, Pt.I, 380.

An Act for the protection of Judicial Officers.

Preamble.—For the greater protection of Magistrates and others acting judicially; It is enacted as follows:—

1. Non-liability to suit of officers acting judicially, for official acts done in good faith, and of officers executing warrants and orders.—No Judge, Magistrate, Justice of the Peace, Collector or other person acting judicially shall be liable to be sued in any Civil Court for any act done or ordered to be done by him in the discharge of his judicial duty, whether or not within the limits of his jurisdiction: Provided that he at the time, in good faith, believed himself to have jurisdiction to do or order the act complained of; and no officer of any Court or other person, bound to execute the lawful warrants or orders of any such Judge, Magistrate, Justice of the Peace, Collector or other person acting judicially shall be liable to be sued in any Civil Court, for the execution of any warrant or order, which he would be bound to execute, if within the jurisdiction of the person issuing the same.²

The Taluqs of Bhadrachalam, Rakapilli and the Rampa Country......See Gazette of India, 1879, Pt. I, p. 630.
The Scheduled Districts in Ganjam and Vizagapatam...... Ditto and Fort St. George Gazette, 1898, Pt. I, p. 870.
1898, Pt. I, p. 666.

The Districts of Hazaribagh,		
Lohardaga (now the Ranchi District,		
see Calcutta Gazette, 1899, Pt. I, p. 44),		
and Manbhum, and ParganaDhalbhum and		
the Kolhan in the District of Singhbhum.	See Gazette of India,	1881, Pt. I, 504.
West Jalpaiguri and the Western		
Hills of Darjiling, the Darjiling		
Tarai and the Damsom		
Sub-Division of the Darjiling Districts		1881, Pt. I, p. 74.
Kumaon and Garhwal	Ditto	1876, Pt. I, p. 605.
The Scheduled portion of the Mirzapur		
District	Ditto	1879, Pt.I, 383.
JaunsarBawar	Ditto	1879, Pt.I, 382.
The District of Lahaul	Ditto	1886, Pt. I, 301.
The Scheduled Districts of the		
Central Provinces	Ditto	1879, Pt. I, 360.
Coorg.	Ditto	1879, Pt.I, 747.
The Districts of Kamrup,		
Nowgong, Darrang, Sibsagar,		
Lakhimpur, Goalpara		
(excluding the Eastern Duars) and		
Cachar (excluding the North Cachar Hills)	Ditto	1878, Pt. I, 633.
The Garo Hills, the Khasi		
and Jaintia Hills, the Naga Hills,		
the North Cachar Hills		
in the Cachar District and the		
Eastern Duars in the Goalpara district.	Ditto,	1897, Pt.I, 299.
The Porahat Estate in the Singhbhum District	Ditto	1879, Pt.I, 1059.
It has been extended, by notification under	s.5 of the last-mentioned Act, to the following	Scheduled District,
namely:		
The Tarai of the Province of Agra	See Gazette of India,	1876, Pt.I, 505.

As to procedure for instituting criminal prosecution against judges and public servants, see the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 (Act 2 of 1974), s. 197.

It has been extended to the new Provinces and Merged States, see Act 59 of 1949.

^{1.} Short title given by the Indian Short Titles Act, 1897 (14 of 1897).

The Act has been declared to be in force in all the Provinces of India, except the Scheduled Districts, by the Laws Local Extent Act, 1874 (15 of 1874), s. 3.

It has been declared in force in the Sonthal Parganas by the SonthalParganas Settlement Regulation, 1872 (3 of 1872), s. 3; in the Khondmals District by the Khondmals Laws Regulation, 1936 (4 of 1936), s. 3 and Sch.; in the Angul District by the Angul Laws Regulation, 1936 (5 of 1936), s. 3 and Sch.; and in PanthPiploda by the PanthPiploda Laws Regulation, 1929 (1 of 1929), s. 2.

It has also been declared by notification under s. 3(a) of the Scheduled Districts Act, 1874 (14 of 1874) to be in force in the following Scheduled Districts, namely:—

STATE AMENDMENTS

Karnataka

Amendment of Central Act XVIII of 1850.—Section 1 of the Judicial Officer's Protection Act, 1850 (Central Act XVIII of 1850) shall be renumbered as section 1A and before the section 1 A as so renumbered, the following section shall be inserted, namely:—

- **"1. Short title and extent.—**(1) This Act may be called the Judicial Officer's Protection Act, 1850.
 - (2) It extends to the whole of the State of Karnataka".

[Vide Karnataka Act 33 of 1978, s.3].

3